Am I Saving Too Much For Retirement?

I graduated from college in 2008 with $10K in cash and $17K in student loans, a net worth of -$7K. I worked in the back office for 2 years while living with my parents in Queens and paying down my debt. I moved to Manhattan this July and got a job in the front office. During this time, I made some investments that paid off, now I have $105K in my ROTH IRA / ROTH 401K, $40K in my brokerage account, $10K cash, and all student loans paid off. I have maxed out my ROTH 401K / ROTH IRA for the past 2 years, and now I have to decide if I want to do this again for 2011. Am I saving too much for retirement? I am asking because I fear that if I want to buy property in NYC, or even start a business, I would not have enough liquid assets to do so, since much of my net worth is in my retirement accounts.

Wow ur discipline is impressive. I recently graduated college with a networth of 200k. But bought a 100k car. And cant stop spending money (spending the money isnt even making me happy). To top it all off i need a job for next year and money for a potential business venture. I have the blues just thinking about it.

I think you are doing awesome saving for retirement. I work in wealth managment right now and see many people that are not even close to being in your situation. One thing to note is that with your Roth IRA, the money that you have contributed to it (your basis) can be taken out any time you wish without taxes or penalties, so you can use that to buy a property if you wish. Another good thing about that is when you take money out of the Roth IRA, it comes out basis first. disclaimer: Not investment advice here. Just stating some facts.