Best methods of studying for level 1

Hello guys

So i am planning to take the CAIA level 1 in march and have some questions. I have an MBA in finance but my knowledge about alternative investments is not that much lets say i have basic knowledge. How long do you think it takes to prepare for the exam for beginners.? I plan to study in about 2 weeks so that will take me about 4 months.

2- also what is the best studying techniques? Should i read the book first then do the problems with kaplan or upper mark. Or should i ignore the book and go with the kaplan or upper mark study materials.?

3- which is better Kaplan or upper mark? And are there online lectures helpful or not?

The exam and its materials cost alot so i want make sure i am on the right path before starting

Thank you in advance

Aziz -

I just passed L1. I also have an MBA in finance, but am also a CFA charterholder. With my background, I found a lot of the first 1/3 of the material to be review, but the last 2/3 of the material was pretty much brand new to me.

I think 4 months is a good time to start studying. I started around late May for the Sept cycle, although to be honest, I probably could have studied for the whole thing in about 3 months. I probably put in ~130 hours of study.

I used Uppermark exclusively (Study Materials and their Test Bank). I didn’t find the extra $100 for the Practice Exam and Final Review to be particularly helpful.

My results were pretty good (I got 5 stronger, 1 higher, and 1 comparable in my score categories), so I think the Uppermark materials worked for me.

As I only used Uppermark, I can’t speak to the quality of Kaplan, or, for that matter, the source Wiley material.

Good luck!

Am I correct in thinking the L1 CAIA syllabus hasnt changed since 2015, therefore using kaplan 2016 materials for the 2017 exam is ok?