Breaking into buy or sell side

Hi everyone,

Like many others I am struggling to break into the equity analyst industry. To me it is such a catch 22. Meaning employers are looking for experience but I can’t obtain experience until one of these employers hires me. It’s such a frustrating loop that I am sure many have experienced. Does anyone have any tips, advice, or personal experiences of how to break into this coveted industry? Below I have listed my traits to paint a better picture of me:

*I graduated college about a year and half ago with a Bachelors in Finance from ordinary state college (3.4 over GPA and 3.8 major GPA)

*I am an investment consultant for a discount brokerage firm (series 7 and 63). I help educate retail clients on markets and help ‘guide’ them with their investments without making the decision. My work does not translate directly in any way into the equity analyst industry.

*I passed level I of CFA in June of this year

*My only experience in equity research is an independent study class which was actually supported by the CFA Institute. My classmates and I competed versus teams across the globe on researching a particular company. I also got a chance to manage some of our school funds.

I have applied to maybe 4 or 5 firms in the past month and I have not even received one call back. I would honestly greatly appreciate any help you give.

nothing in your profile stands out. why should someone give you an interview?

Ouch. But there is truth to it.

4 or 5 firms? haha. Get back to me once you’re >50. I applied to well over 100 jobs (stopped keeping track after that) that I was qualified for before I took a job I didn’t want just so I’d have a job.

Networking is going to be your only real shot here. You have average grades from what sounds like an average school with minimal desirable experience. It’s pretty known that the market has an oversupply of folks for these jobs.