9 Years Experience: Career Switch to Investments

Dear Folks of AnalystForum:

I’m a 9 years veteran in Software Sales (and tech savy too), Business Development, Strategic Planning, Forecasting and Budgeting, Sales Promotion, Branding and Channel Sales Management; worked in a start-up (at 24, led the new business unit to set-up its operations) and Large American MNC (6 years). I have a good knowledge in Chapter 11 Bankruptcy and Debt Restructuring; learnt Corporate Finance, Accounting and various Corporate Strategies on my own. Today, I’m aiming to clear all the three levels of CFA to pursue an investment career. So questions:

1. What are the options can I expect after completing CFA Level III from CFA Institute?
  2. I started liking the investment field when I started learning Debt Restructuring, Private Equity (VC), Derivatives, Financial Statement Analysis, …What roles can I expect to start with?
  3. How easy/difficult it is to switch careers?

Advice/suggestion/experiences from a veteran in the investment arena, who had switched career (from any field), would be highly appreciated.

Regards, Nitin Garg

This is a really hard industry, I would recommend you do something. It will be difficult to break in, more difficult to advance, and prior background will not get any credit in the investing world unless you are on the sales side of the house (which is lucrative but you might be bored if you are interested in restructuring work). Source: 8 years on the sell side and buy side.

very difficult. your best bet is to find a sell side equity research role that covers companies where you have knowledge of those businesses

And accept level entry wage.

Just dont. If you’re good at what you do now, invest as a hobby.

Tbh, agree with the others you should invest as a hobby. No harm in doing the exams but see it as a boost for your own personal knowledge and not a career thing.