Creating an equity research firm

Dear all,

i am from Vietnam where the marketcap is now USD 40-50 billion. There are thousand of foreign investors both institutions and individuals. However, there are a few brokerage houses that can provide security information for those investors (the information such as financial statements of listed companies, industries, macroeconomic,…etc.). Therefore, i am thinking about establishing an “semi” equity research firm which specializes in: (i) gathering information, (ii) processing information; and (iii) analyzing the information for recommending investment actions if requested.

I have more than 5 years of experience in stock investment and i also consecutively passed all three levels of the CFA exams. I would like all of you to answer my following questions:

1. How can i start? How can i develop marketing plan for my financial information gathering and processing services to those foreign investors that i have never met them before?

2. should i focus only on fundamental information (financial statements, regulatory filings, interest rates, …etc.) or on both fundamental information and information for technical analysis?

3. other aspects to be taken under consideration.

please help me,

Thanks

Firstly, do you have enough CAPITAL to start your own firm?

And a financial firm by no means “just financial”. You will need “lawyers” to deal with the regulatory/compliance stuff. Accountants to balance your books, HR ladies to hire/fire people etc.

It will be very hard to start on your own. Your best bet would be to start off as a partnership. You can pool in your expertise & resources.

1. You will have to rely on networking to get clients. Use your existing sources to leverage your marketing efforts. And I don’t think you will be able to acquire foreign clients directly. First, you will have to make a name for yourself in the local market. Once the locals know and envy you, foreigners will come in very easily.