Career in Switzerland

Hi all,

what do you think about the investment sector in Switzerland and career opportunities ther? I am currently wondering is it a good idea to look for a job and move there? What does the market for investment professionals look there? At the moment I work as a PM in a European country and have all the charters and more.

Another thing I wanted to ask is what does it look like to live in Switzerland? I have heard many negatives about living there - you cannot have a washing machine in your apartment, you cannot take a shower after 10 PM, people there will hate you for just not being Swiss and call the police even if you park your car 10 cm to close to the building. Somepeople told me that living there is like living in a prison.

I am not even mentioning such nuisances as stores closed after 7 PM and on Sundays.

Is it a good idea to move there to work as a PM? Or maybe it is very hard to find a job there as a PM? Are the salaries high enough to reflect extremely high costs of living?

I appreciate any help.

I can’t answer your question about getting a PM job there but assume you would be based in Zug if you did.

I lived in CH (Zurich) for nearly 4 years and really liked it. Yes, there are crazy things like no vacuuming or using the communal washing machine on Sundays / Public Holidays but my apartment came with a washer / dryer and there was nothing in my lease about not being able to shower after 10pm, etc. Some Swiss can be very particular about the rules but I sometimes miss that discipline. In the end, all those rules / courtesies make the quality of life what it is. Cost of living isn’t bad when you consider the extremely high wages. Just don’t go out to eat often and drink beer instead of cocktails.

That said, stores closing early and on Sundays totally sucks.

Thank you for your answer.

Can you also tell me what is the typical range of salaries of PMs, Analysts, etc. in Switzerland?