My plan to enter Asset Management, thoughts?

Little background. I’m a 24 year-old guy who is starting his career in financial services in the UK. I am originally from Eastern Europe but I did my Bachelor’s in the Netherlands (at a good, but not an internationally famous uni) and then I moved to the UK where I finished a MSc Finance degree in Sep 2013.

I did not have a job upon finishing my Master’s so I spent the next few months basically applying to everything (my interest is in AM/ER, but I could not afford to be picky). Eventually, I secured a Graduate position at the Treasury Department of a large commercial, mutual bank. My programme starts in Sep and honestly I am glad that I finally have a job after the intense search. The position seems cool enough, part of my rotation includes hedging and derivatives, ALM and investing in the money markets. I am also going to be sponsored for the CFA.

While everyone at the bank seems nice and the atmosphere is quite relaxed I have no intentions staying there in the long term. My desire is to break into AM/ER and I am not sure what the best course of action would be. My plan for now is to wait for a year during which I will obtain my L1 and gain some financial experience in Treasury. In the mean time I will continue reading various books on investment and I will start managing my own portfolio with the hopes of getting some practical experience. I am going to keep a journal for all of my investment decisions and the motivation behind them. I am also planning to massively improve my Excel skills and learn how to write ER reports.

After 1 year I will start applying to entry level positions in AM, combined with cold-calling funds and emailing them my CV, cover letter and sample reports. I am basically going to call every single person in the industry until I make a successful career switch or I will die trying.