Breaking into ER after school

Hello All,

I graduated with a Master’s in Finance a couple of years ago from a non-target, and have spent the last two years in an FP&A role at an oil & gas company. I am interested in breaking into equity research, but I am not sure how difficult/possible it would be for me with my background (just hitting my mid-20’s). I have a little bit of CFA exam experience, having passed level 1.

Does anyone have any suggestions on whether or not it would be possible to break into equity research, and how to prepare for an early-career switch?

Thanks very much.

whats up with all the posts lately linking to WSO?

Why would you want to do ER?

FP&A at an oil and gas firm sounds like a much better job, unless you’re crazy passionate about ER.

he doesn’t specify buyside/sellside. nothing wrong with either.

and maybe he wants to do ER in energy related to where he is now

I’m sure he does want to do energy related as he’d have valuable experience there. That said, at least where I’m from, oil and gas FP&A pays more and has way better benefits/balance. And the exit opps aren’t bad either. Perhaps things are different in the States and FP&A isn’t well comped. With five years experience in my town in that line of work he would be making ~$110k +/- and a 20% bonus, with four weeks vacation and monthly flex days. 40 hour weeks 90% of the time with occassional OT. Hard to find that just entering ER. When I interviewed here for an ER spot it was $70k +30% bonus, working 60 hours per week with two weeks vacation.

^ I don’t mean to discourage him though if ER is what he wants. Go apply and see where the comp comes in. Its cool work. Just remember the grass is always greener and there are trade offs.

why does every noob out of college who studied finance at a state school wanna do ER?

Because they think it’s a glamorous job.

I’d stay in the FP&A role at the oil company. I’d rather have 75% of the total comp with 50% of the work load vs. ER.