When to start sending out resumes / applying online?

I am a FT MBA student graduating in May 2015 and I am not returning to my internship employer. Is it too early to start applying for open positions that I see online? Some of the positions are very interesting to me so I am finding it hard to resist. I am also anxious to start interviewing and getting an offer before I graduate.

Should I go through the school’s on-campus recruiting effort until Nov and start applying online for open positions only at that point? Or should I submit resumes now to postings I am interested just in case they might be flexible to a 2015 start date, and reapply in December if I don’t hear anything?

never too early to put out feelers

On-campus recruiting is arguably the most valuable part of doing a FT MBA. You will find real-world recruiting to be very challenging and unrewarding in comparison. Instead of getting an interview for 50% of the jobs you apply to as in on-campus recruiting, you will find in real-world recruiting that you only get an interview for 5% of the jobs you apply for. And instead of getting job offers for 50% of the jobs you interview for as in on-campus recruiting, you will find in real-world recruiting that firms interview a dozen candidates and make an offer to one. In other words, you should focus on on-campus recruiting while that is still an option.

I graduate this December, and from my experience, it has even been too early for me right now. People have said they are looking to hire right now and that they cant wait until December

From my experience, the on-campus recruiting has been so disappointing. No jobs in what I am interested to do

That’s a sign that you chose the wrong MBA program. Or, maybe just that firms don’t hire their CEOs via on-campus recruiting.

it’s a sign his MBA program is crap. immediate hacksaw is warranted.