Transition from Sell Side

Hi guys,

It’s quite an early stage in my career (3 years), I have some experience in Corporate Finance and is currently in the Equity Capital Markets. I’m sorta at a crossroad cause I recently failed my Level 2 exams (partially due to a lack of motivation, if I’m going to stay in ECM, there really isn’t that much value ascribed from a CFA charter)

My question is, if I want to transition into the buy side, does completing my CFA actually help me get a job on the buy side? or is the only route from research>fund management?

Hope I can get some honest insight here. Thanks guys.

The CFA is icing on a cake, it’s never going to be the reason you land the buyside job.

THe CFA helps most as a last filtering tool, if it’s down to last few people, and they can’t really decide who they like more, this could be a tie breaker.

Hmm. seems like the reward-to-effort ratio of CFA is really low in my case haha. I am looking to relocate to Singapore though so I will need any miniscule edge I can get.

it is low. Just thinking about it logically, there’s simply nowhere near enough job openings for all the CFA candidates in the world hoping to break into buyside or research etc… So by definition, a lot of candidates will fail. 110k CFA charterholders, and then double that number for candidates… that’s a lot of people. And everyone wants a good job.

Those that land the jobs they want largely got in for some other reason. The CFA program may have been 3% of the reason, or 25% at most, I find it hard to believe it will exceed that.

It’s all about your peers. if someone is desperate to hire, and you’re in the right place at the right time and you look great vs other candidates, then you have a great shot.

Being at the right place at the right time is really important, especially in the next 10 years where you will see a bunch of baby boomers retiring.