Unemployed forever

I’ve been unemployed(kind of) for awhile. I’m pretty much at the brink of considering life termination.

I lost my job due to some silly securities and the entire asset class just doesn’t exists anymore. To make myself be more specialized, I studied life sciences and found a very small job and odd position at a oversea VC company looking at biotech industry. Due to my age and being a woman, I had to come back to the US. I knew the job market wasn’t well and had a very hard time looking for a job. So I said, can’t find a job I’ll make a job. I did. I programmed, designed, marketed a business. But business isn’t doing well. And I really want my finance job. But recruiters always look at my résumé and put me in the “developer” bucket. I’ll admit, yes I built a full blown software but I can’t claim that I’m a total expert. I’m still better in finance. And people seem to ignore all my experiences in finance and the exams I’ve taken.

I’m almost at the point where I cannot survive any further and ending me seems like the only choice. I don’t know where to go anymore. What is the point?

You have more drive then 99% people out there. Also you have unique experience. My rule is to never give up.

Sent you a PM.

I hope you don’t mean what I think you mean. It’s always darkest before dawn. Maybe this is an opportunity for you to look at other sectors of the economy to find your calling.

“… I programmed, designed, marketed a business. But business isn’t doing well. … But recruiters always look at my résumé and put me in the “developer” bucket. I’ll admit, yes I built a full blown software but I can’t claim that I’m a total expert.”