Unemployment vs. L/T career path

Hi all - back w/another ? - When is it ok to quit your job w/o another offer in hand (if ever)? See the original post below for some background, but basically been with the same group for about 6 years and although the pay is really good, all other pieces of a good successful long-term career are missing (i.e. job growth, opportunities for advancement, my passion for the work, considering myself there l/t, etc). I’ve been with the same company since I graduated from college and although there have been several times that I’ve wanted to call it quits, given it’s a back office role, nothing worth while came across during the job search and didn’t want to go from one crappy position to another. Fast forward to today - Had my annual review recently and despite my hard work, looks like the new manager just isn’t going to support me for a promotion. I hear through the grapevine that they had a similar struggle to get promoted and I may be on the same route.

Although I don’t mind waiting and giving it my all, sometimes you have to know when to move forward. I mean money can’t be everything, right? Just have second thoughts about being unemployed, esp. in this mkt. Unfortunately I work unpredictable, and sometimes extremely long hours and w/the level 3 exam, have very limited time for networking/job search so the only option is to quit in order to find another job (my current network is very limited and I’ve already told them numerous times that I want another opportunity). Thinking about quitting sometime in Q1 (after getting the annual bonus) and taking Q2 to study for the cfa/job search. Thoughts?

PS - apologies for the long post, but this forum has been really helpful in the past, so really wanted to share the issue and hope to get some good thoughtful advice. Thanks.

http://www.analystforum.com/forums/careers/91329407

I always advise my friends to think twice (or thrice) before leaving their job…