VBA: Best place to learn?

Hi All,

I’ve earned my Charter and am now looking for the next hill to take. I work as a Sr. Analyst on a global tactial FoF and VBA seems to be a place I can add some additional value as I build out some more robust risk and allocation models. I’m tired of spreadsheets held together by string and bubblegum as they are never as reliable as they need to be regardless of how well written and organized they are.

The question: What is the best structured/comprehensive study course for VBA?

Videos don’t do much with my attention span. Read, Do, Repeat seems to be the best model for me, but every joe schmoe out there claims to be a VBA expert and there appears to be dozens of ‘courses’ to choose from. Let me know what you’ve done, what you liked and what you didn’t. Cost isn’t all that important, looking to maximize my time.

Thanks!

When I’ve hired for VBA roles, I have always found the best candidates are those with degrees that heavily relied on it so they learned it in school. So my recommendation is contact the local university and see if they have an even certificate program you can earn through structured courses, either online or in person. Even if they don’t, they should at least be able to point you in the right direction for self study. My experience has been you can reach out to the department head in any relevant department(s) over email and they are likely to respond and/or take your call and be helpful. Academic people like making connections with industry people. Good luck.

Step 1: Identify a problem you are having in Excel Step 2: Google "How do I fix ‘problem’ using Excel and VBA Step 3: Read various forums where people have posted similar problems Step 4: Copy code pasted into forum answers in a module and try to understand what it does in a workbook Step 5: Use the macro recorder, do some random repetitive exercise and see what comes out…analyze this, try to understand Step 6: Continue to do this and solve problems