Is Internal Audit to Fortune 500 Corporate Finance a realistic lateral move?

Hey everyone,

I accepted a job about a few months ago with Bank of America doing Internal Audit through their Corporate Audit Analyst 2 year development program and I will be starting in June after I graduate University in a few months. While I was initially excited for the opportunity to delve in to a business as a whole, after reading more and more about internal audit I am concerned I made a big mistake. I was led to believe that Internal Audit was a great pipeline to many areas in a business within a certain company (particularly corporate finance/industry since my degree is in Finance from University of Texas at Austin). Apparently that wasn’t the case since Internal Audit is seen as an exit opportunity for auditors. Now I am seriously thinking I made the wrong choice since possibility of a pigeonhole is very very possible and I don’t want that to happen!

My goal is to transition to corporate finance at a Fortune 500 company (or even at BofA) after the program is over at Bank of America. Honestly, how difficult would it be to lateral after the program was over to a Fortune 500 in their finance department (i.e: GE, Boeing, or even Bank of America)? Would internal audit experience be seen as valuable and relevant to corporate finance positions at Fortune 500 companies? Or will it be seen as useless experience therefore leaving me stuck in internal audit forever? I read a lot of not so great things on this website and WSO regarding Internal Audit so I am quite concerned!

I would greatly appreciate feedback and guidance

Hey, you can make a good six figure lifestyle with low stress in Internal Audit. But its not a path to corporate finance glory. There is certainly a risk of being pigeon holed. Its better than being unemployed though, so roll with it unless something better comes up. I’d hire a BoA Internal Auditor over an umeployed washout, all else equal.