Ops to Finance to Investment Opportunity??

Hi All,

I have been offered a job interview and I need some advice with regards to the opportunity.

I have been working for 7 months now in Middle Office Ops for a large global Custodian (which I hate). I am signed up to do the CFA L1 this June and have a Bachelors and a Masters as of last year.

I feel I am wasting my time working in fund admin and living off the hope of eventually becoming an investment manger with enough time, hard work and networking. So at the turn of the new year I decided that I was indeed wasting my time and began applying for other roles closer to the front end of things. My strategy was to get into an asset or investment management firm at any level (within reason) rather than applying direct to roles which I simply don’t have the experience for.

Now the interview I got is for a large asset manager/private bank yay! Although it is an Financial Assistant to the finance team and they did originally state that they would like some one perusing CFA but upon further inspection of a more detailed job desc they really would prefer someone looking for an accountancy qualification ACCA. So I am worried the role might pigeonhole me as an accountant. Although the opportunity to get inside this great firm may be too good to pass up, as it is obv easier to move up internally rather than externally.

So my question is simply this, should I pursue the job as the Financial Assistant or continue down the road of fund admin and chip away at my CFA to move on eventually?

Thanks in advance

I can’t provide any tips for the job you are interviewing for, but I would recommend moving out of fund admin ASAP. It’s a great work life balance in most cases and fantastic job security but it seems very rare to transfer from MO/BO to the front office. I am currently dealing with this situation.