What is a finance? - some career guidance needed

To all my fellow financiers, I have a question. What is a finance job? What is a career in finance?

I ask this question because I seem to have lost sight of my career goals and have become complacent in my current position. A little bit of a back-story, I got my bachelors degree back in 2011 as a finance major. Coming out of college I had a pretty difficult time finding employment. I had a couple interviews here and there with various banks and financial institutions but nothing materialized. The most promising interview I had was for a financial advisor position with Merrill Lynch where they asked me to come back multiple times but ultimately they passed on me because I didn’t have experience. I started asking myself how would I ever get experience if no one would hire me based on the fact that I didn’t have any… Catch 22.

I began to think of ways to improve my marketability and how to turn myself into a more desirable candidate to potential employers. I wanted to get my securities licenses by taking the various series’ exams. The series 7 and series 63 exams were the ones that stood out to me, but unfortunately in order to sit for any of those exams I needed to be already employed by a company that deals with investments. Bummer…

After more research, I decided that enrolling in the CFA program and taking the CFA Level I exam would be the best route for me to take. In the meantime I picked up a job at Enterprise just to have some form of income and to keep myself busy. Fast forward a year later I was still working at Enterprise and I had failed the Level I exam. I enrolled for the Level I exam again and six months later I finally passed Level I.