What is a decent starting salary for a Financial Analyst position?

Primary Question:

I recently received a job offer as a corporate financial analyst at a medium sized national company within the healthcare industry in the los angeles county area. I am a career changer and I have an MBA with 1 year experience in financial services. I am a career changer, so I also have 5+ years work expereince in another field.

What would be a reasonable starting salary for a corporate financial analyst position with my background?

Secondary Question:

Also, any tips in salary negotiation will greatly be appreciated. I was offered less than my asking salary. I asked for $54k and they offered $50k.

I’m looking to get a little more than the offer amount. I’m wondering if I should negotiate salary or take the offer considering my experience and the state of the economy. What are some tips if I want to negotiate my salary? Thank you.

Well, $50K seems generous for a noob, but kids these days have all sorts of expectations.

No offense but I would cry myself to sleep if I got paid 54K a year with an MBA

Nowaday’s MBAs (not top ten) with 1 year experience are essentially treated as entry level and salaries should reflect this. In corporate finance, you may be able to swing a higher salary depending on your age and if you have kids or not. I work in corp fn for a middle market company and have negotiated a few salary increases, so pm me if you’re interested.