Excel skills matters?

I am a financial analyst in a construction firm. I’ve been dealing with Excel pro-forma a lot. Just curious, are there anyone spend a lot of money on taking excel classes and trying to improve excel skills like me ?

A question for more senior financial analyst, or any kind of analyst: How important is excel skills to your career?

Seems like excellent excel skills are necessary for any financial analyst. You going to do the math in your head? Plus as a senior, you need to review junior analyst workbooks.

I think it would help

there are people who claim that Excel is for little companies and the big boys should be working on their SQL pulls and dedicated reported systems like Hyperion

I still think there’s value to knowing Macros and how to do good-looking reports in Excel. Some Fortune 500’s still rely heavily on Excel believe it or not.

Agreed, although I am not suprised about big companies (or any company) relying on Excel. Excel is the blank slate of number-crunching. It survives because custom programs and systems are often too nuanced to have widespread adoption. It is the perfect package of the basic building blocks.

There are more specialized problems in the world that require a custom solution than there are generalized problems that require a general solution, so Excel prospers. For many of these problems, it is the simplest, cheapest and most flexible platform in which to develop that custom solution.

Despite its bugs, everyone knows something about Excel so you are almost guaranteed a universal medium to exchange your calculations or model that everyone will get. Almost everyone also has Excel installed on their computer, so there’s no major issues in distributing whatever model or application you’ve developed.

In short, I really wish that people would just accept this and a) stop beating up on Excel in general, and b) stop being embarrassed for being an expert Excel user or VBA programmer.