Moving out of Back Office seems extremely hard

I have been working in the BO at a big buy side firm for 5 years now. During the past 5 years, I have applied for 30 jobs internally and nothing has happened so far. My firm seems to like hiring external candidats (even fresh graduates) rather than hiring intenal candidates from BO. I’m in a much smaller city than NYC so there are really not a lot of job opportunities in investment.

Like most peole, you think you got a job at BO in a investment firm, then you got your foot into the door, and then you can work your way up to FO or even any group better than BO, I’m telling you, that is completey wrong. I have a MBA and passed CFA level II, the miracle hasn’t happened so far. Will it even happen?

Some people say you gotta network, but how? I emailed some people that I know from work for a chat or coffee, but most people would not even bother to respond. Am I doing it in the correct way?

Here’s the dilemma: for most entry level analsyt poistions, I’m overqualified with my years of experience. However anything above the entry level, I don’t have the related experience.

So I will be stuck with my current BO position for ever?

No offense, but communication might be an issue.

Thank you.

Did you mean communication when networking or just geneally speaking?

Any suggestions to improve?

5 years BO is a long time.

If you have BO, this could more of a hygiene issue

I am not saying this applies to you. But anyway, I’ve interviewed some MO/BO people for a position on my desk. They all failed to get the job. The issue was that they were not smart enough and did not have the right knowledge. We could easily find even a new graduate from MFE or other programs, and that person would be smarter, better, and more knowledgeable about our products. Had the internal candidates been better, they would have gotten the job first. They just weren’t good enough.