Passed Level 1 - Continue or nah?

Background: MBA - finance concentration, 2 years experience Investment Analyst at a small/medium sized Asset Manager (on the global team), and just passed level 1 of CFA. Mid-twenties.

Everybody at my firm on the investment team has either a CFA or PhD. So I figured that it was mandatory. Thus, I started studying on my own and around 3 weeks out from the L1 Exam I asked for some time before the exam to study. My boss, one of the partners, pretty much said “no”, and then wondered why I was even taking the CFA. He stated he’d rather me have more time to “think creatively” rather than be swamped and stressed. I explained that I thought it was mandatory, ect, and he said no because I already have my MBA. He also said it was only mandatory for the people that didn’t have graduate degrees (most have both though). So I thought, great, telling me 3 weeks away, of course I didnt WANT to do this, but oh well I’ll keep plugging.

So i just found out I passed L1 (by far it seems), and I’m curious where do I go from here. Should I do L2, because, if so, it would be behind his back pretty much in secret. Or wait? I’m kinda stuck in a predicament. Obviously, no body WANTS to study for no reason. There’s a hell of a lot more shit I want to do in the next few months over studying, but I also don’t know what is the best choice.

take it unless ur banking it

I would not go for it…

If you want to advance in your career and don’t intend to stay at the same place forever you should do it.

There’s still a lot of value and techniques you will pick up through the program that wasn’t covered in a 2 year MBA.

Besides, it gets incrementally harder to get into studying this stuff when you get older so just get it done when you’re young.

Start studying aggressively now so you don’t have to take time off work later.