Creating your own personal application-Good or bad idea?

Hi everyone,

I graduated in May 2015 from a non-target state school with a degree in finance. Since then, I have worked part time for a small valuation consulting firm and passed the Level 1 exam on my first attempt. I am looking to start a career as a fixed income analyst, but opportunities have been hard to come by. I came up with the idea of creating my own personal applicaiton consisting of information about my values, why I want to work in the field, my qualifications (resume, grades, CFA Level 1, reccomendations) and the value that I believe I would add. I plan to take this packet, put it into a nice binder and physically walk into fixed income asset managers and fixed income funds in my area, regardless if they have any job postings or not.

I would like to hear some feedback on this idea from some expereinced professionals. Do you think this idea is worth my time? Do you think my application would be taken seriously or just tossed in the trash? What type of things in the application would impress you and what things would just annoy you?

Please leave any other feedback you deem neccessary. Thanks.

I think someone like itera could give you very optimistic advice regarding this endeavor of yours.Make sure to mention your L1 pass and the semi target to him.These stuff gets the man super excited.

Well, it had better be a REALLY good binder. Because any minor flaw will put you in “impossible is nothing” basket in the person’s eye.

In addition, the fact of the matter is that people cannot just spontaneously hire you. There needs to be a job opening first. So, you to do some research, find out when there is turnover, and present yourself at the opportunistic time.