Management Consulting

Hi All,

Wondering how many of the posters on this forum work in / are applying for management consulting roles. If so, how have you applied the CFA to your work. Also, how respected is the CFA in the management consulting field.

Thanks!

I don’t work in management consulting, but they don’t care at all about CFA there.

I have four years experience in management consulting in DC. I passed level 1 in June, and am studying for level II for next June. The CFA charter is not that important in climbing the ladder in management consulting. People acknowledge that the exams are difficult, sure, but it’s not as important as day to day project work and experience working closely with clients. The equity analysis, PM, and derivatives aren’t all that relevant. The Quant Methods, corporate finance, and some of FRA are relevant. We often have to look at a client’s financial reports and analyze historical costs and revenues and business operations as background before building a financial model. Ethics is something which you can apply to any position/industry. Long story short, the charter is respected in any educated and well-informed workplace. It has the potential to enhance your day to day job performance, but it’s not a necessity. It’s not like they’ll deny you a promotion without it.

So just curious, what made you begin the CFA curriculum? Are you trying to get out of consulting altogether?