Ideas/Strategies to Stand Out applying for Finance Roles

This is obviously a situation I’m dealing with currently, but I think any ideas/strategies here can probably help a lot of people in a similar position.

Myself - I’m looking for work in Toronto. I graduated with BComm degree last year (not a top Canadian business school, but very recognizable - U of Guelph), have passed the Level 2 CFA exam, and have 3 months of work experience as an Equity Research Associate at mid-market investment services firm/bank. I was laid off due to company-wide restructuring - still have great contacts/references from there.

In the 2 months I’ve been searching from my CFA exam, I’ve gotten ZERO calls for interviews. I’ve had a couple coffee meetings, and phone meetings. The latest with a PM at a very successful buy-side shop. His shop just hired relatively junior associates and his advice was given how competitive the industry is, he thought it was imperative to stand-out and recommended creating investment ideas/reports and sending all shops/analysts or wherever you want to work, these ideas, in hopes of landing an opportunity.

If anything the phone call woke me up to the reality of what needs to be done to even get interest from a shop where you may not have any great contacts. Does this advice sound like a good idea to you guys, and any more ideas or strategies for standing out and just getting a damn interview even somewhere?

bump…

Was hoping to get at least some feedback and ideas here - maybe from individuals who used something unique to stand out in the hiring process.

I’ve been looking for almost 3 months now, and finally was able to get 2 companies to include me in their hiring process - 1 last weekend where I had to submit a case study (modeling assignment and written portion) where I was already notified I wouldn’t be continuing in the process due to strong competition, and the other I never heard back from after submitting additional details last week.