Working on trial

I am currently looking for a job. Recruiters tell me the market is brightening up but I can not honestly confirm that.

I have some years of decent experience but I feel like nobody out of nowhere at times. Every tiny-tiny shop seems to have defined its candidate requirements down to the molecular level and it feels like they have all the time in the world.

So far I got an offer to work a few weeks on trial. It is a sort of a staggered proposition whereby I may - in the end - receive an offer.

Have a mixture of feelings about that. On one hand, showing what I can do over interviewing endless rounds is a plus. But, on the other hand, I am a little bit nervous.

It is a decent place, they will pay for this period and, yes, I would kill for the job there. I can do the job. But what makes me nervous are all those factors which are hard to predict in advance - these weeks will definitely put my job search on hold which is worth it if everything goes well.

Has anyone done similar experience?

Feel like Will Smith pursuing his internship except that I am not in Hollywood.

I am certainly glad and grateful bit a little bit freaking out too.

Why not, worst thing that can happen is you don’t get it after a few weeks and you can look for something else. And why can’t you do parallel job searches, most of my friends in banking were able to do interviews while working FT and their schedules are much more demanding.

The company told me it could be extremely intense. But, again, we will see. Sometimes it is wiser to focus on one thing.

I am so curious if anyone has done something like that?

There’s no reason not to, really. It sounds like you’re not working at the moment, so you might as well take the shot. You can still manage to look for other jobs at the same time.

I did basically the same thing after I graduated. I took a two-week ‘trial’ because I figured “why not?” and they handed me an offer by the end of my first week.