Real Estate at an Institutional Investor

hi fellow analysts,

I’ve come across this job offer which initially seems to be really interesting and I was wondering whether anyone could provide some insight on how this job would look like on a daily basis, as well as future growth, etc.

I’m a senior analyst at the valuations&modelling team at a B4, just earned the CFA charter, and my experience mostly covers RE and infra.

The job is for a the RE arm of a huge european insurer.

Copy paste of the offer:

• Job Purpose/Role

Support the commercial growth of the region business through the analysis and modeling of debt and equity opportunities, as well as the drafting of investment memorandums.

• Your new duties and responsibilities

Asset valuation Cash flow modeling of debt and equity opportunities Analysis and underwriting of debt and equity opportunities Initial drafting of internal approval documents Close cooperation and coordination with internal debt and equity underwriting functions Local market research Support of commercial activities, including participation in client meetings

• Required qualifications and experience

3 - 5 years of related work experience in real estate equity investment (direct debt and/or JV) Strong analytical and modeling skills Proficiency with relevant IT systems, especially MS Excel, Argus and MS Word Strong organizational and prioritization skills Good written and verbal communication skills Team player with readiness to learn Ability to coordinate cross-functionally Independent thinker Ability to work both independently and as a team

Any comments would be much appreciated.

Cheers!

It sounds like a lot of modeling and analysis. It’s probably a great learning opportunity if you don’t mind sitting in front of a computer all day long.

hey thanks for your reply.

the thing i was trying to figure out is how the debt-side of it would look like, given the risk-averse profile of an insurer.