Career advice to get out of back office stint

I currently work as a P&L analyst in fund services, and I have my CFA Level 1. With that being said I know we are a dime a dozen, but I do have a real passion for finance which sadly I found too late in my academic life. I recently graduated from a non-target school with a non-competitive GPA, and using the best of my abilities I landed a fund services job.

My concern is that I don’t want to be pigeon holed into the back office forever. What steps can I take to move out of the back and into the front (i.e Investment Analyst)? I have placed decently in a prestigious equity research case competition so I do have a well written report on a specific stock. I currently reside in Toronto but am very open to relocating. I know this is highly unrealistic with my background, but I would love to hear any advice from people who may have been in a similar situation and have made it.

TL;DR - Fresh grad with CFA 1 working in fund services, low gpa and non-target school wants to get into IB but very passionate.

hey.

Pro tip: stop telling people you have “passion” for finance. No one cares about your fragile feelings. What can you provide that the hundreds of the other faceless naive kids with mediocre grades cannot? Until you answer this, you’re getting nothing.

I agree. People don’t really care. Even if you do, tell them you would enjoy do x, y, and z and they better all be things that will make them more money or save them time.

listen to ohai he seems smart

What would be a considered valid answer though? I don’t want to sound half assed, but what do you personally think is something that would help someone stand out amongst hundreds of faceless naive kids with mediocre grades when they are competing against graduates from B schools? Would you say the ability to learn quickly a skill that could separate someone? I really am trying to find out what impresses and what works, because I definitely do agree with you.