Online trading account - first time and need some advice

I was wondering if anyone here on the forum can help me out.

After speaking to various fund managers on how to break into the industry I have been advised that unless I am trading myself, then many firms will not look at me.

With this in mind I am looking to open an online trading account, however, I am not too sure which brokerage I should use. Ideally I would like one with decent video tutorials and one that is cheap because I am just starting out. I would also like one that provides quite a bit of research.

Any thoughts?

After looking around I came across one called Zecco which is cheap ($4.95 stock trades) and has it’s own video tutorials, as well as a forum and a detailed blog.

What are other people using and what advice would you give me in my situation?

What is your academic background, work experience, age, etc…?

I use Charles Schwab, but I do pretty plain vanilla equity & mutual fund trades and that is who my company clears with but I would be impartial between Schwab, TD Ameritrade, and Fidelity, as they have good execution and low commissions. I don’t know that I would use ETrade, as their financial health is pretty poor. If you are wanting to do options trading, I have heard good things about Interactive Brokers.

Interactive Brokers is good, albeit a bit intimidating at times. If you are using it to demonstrate familiarity with trading, it may take you farther. Also stock/etf trades are $1, which - if you have a small account - may make it easier for you to pull the trigger on stuff. However, that can be a double edged sword.

Interactive Brokers lets you run a demo of their system with a paper trading account so you can get used to the controls.