Business Prospects after completing CFA Program

I dont know if I should be asking this, but it has been on my mind now for a while. My dad has been doing business for past 25-30 years, and being the eldest son in my family it would be my responsibility to takeover the business and carry it further. Now I have this question sticking on my mind, how will the CFA charter benefit me in doing business? Also, currently I am a Chartered Accountancy student and will take the final exams in May 2014. I know i have to gain work experience for 4 years so that I become eligible for the CFA charter (and obviously complete all three levels). But the question still remains, can anyone throw some light on this?

The most obvious question is “What is your family business?” What does it do, and does it have anything to do with CFA-type stuff? (The fact that you haven’t mentioned your dad being a CFA charterholder tells me something. And the fact that you’re asking this question kinda confirms it.)

If the family business is a pet store, I would probably say “No.”

If the family business is a private wealth investment advisory firm, I would probably say “Yes.”

i dont think it has anything to do with CFA at all. My dad owns a factory and he is a manufacturer of furniture items and also does tradind of raw material. And he aint a CFA charterholder.

If I had a business coming to me in manufacturing and raw materials trading, I’d never have wasted a minute in school. The real money is in business, don’t waste your time taking classes, unless you hope CFA will help you manage your own portfolio.

I’d honestly be at the business everyday learning the ins and outs. Real money isn’t made taking courses to be a wage slave. It’s made by owning and controling the means of production. Which you’ll be doing.