How much does an accounting qualification help with the CFA L1?

Bit of a general question but: I would like to know how much does an accounting qualification (I’m doing the ACA- UK) help with CFA Level 1? Does it make the accounting material much easier or is there still a lot of learning to do?

It makes the accounting material very easy.

I have a degree in accounting, as well as two degrees in mathematics. The accounting degree was an immense help in the FRA portion of the CFA exams (it’s the only useful thing I ever got out of that degree, by the way).

Thanks guys! This does give me some additional comfort/confidence, but I’ll still go through the accounting parts. I also did a degree in finance and at first glance, I’ve seen most of the material before to some extent or another. Hope that will make it easier too.

Level I is basically a refresher course of your undergraduate business studies.

Agreed

Don’t underestimate Level 1. People have a tendency to downplay their achievements after the fact, so when you see these charterholders telling you that Level 1 is a joke, remember that they, too, likely studied their asses off for it when they took it. <40% of people tend to pass, the test is straight forward but you need to respect it.

L1 and L2 is heavily focused in FSA (up to 35%), so it will greatly help you in that section.

it will help if your knowledge translates to acing the FSA section.

Otherwise it’s useless.