CFA Vs Economics Degree and Employability

Hi guys,

I am looking for a bit of advice to see what you think I should do, or if anyone has been in the same situation.

I am currently 19years old and opted to go straight into work instead of going to University.

I now have a year and a half of experience working in Foreign Exchange as a sales executive - as the name suggests, it is a very sales orientated role whereby I sell our services to businesses, I generally spend my day cold calling, writing proposals and compiling hedging strategies, attending face-to-face meetings with clients etc.

At the moment I am studying for my Investment Management Certificate (IMC):

https://secure.cfauk.org/qualifications/imc-exam.html/

Staying in Foreign Exchange has never been my goal. My main aim is to become a trader for an investment bank, the route I thought to take would be, get as much experience under my belt as possible, meanwhile study for the IMC exams and then go onto studying for the CFA exams. I know I need to get into a job role more specific to where I want to be, hence why at the end of the year I will start to look elsewhere.

My main worry is that I do not have a degree.

Is having an IMC, CFA and experience enough to become a successful trader for a relatively large organisation?

I am aware in the UK, the CFA is equivalent to having a masters degree, as it states on the website, but does anyone know how it compares to a degree in reality?

Would employers feel comofortable in hiring someone with a CFA and no degree?

I’d really appreciate any advice or thoughts

Thanks!

Your question is moot.

You cannot get the charter until you have a degree. So your question shouldn’t be “either/or”, it should be “both/and”.

looking at the CFA website, under entry requirements it says you either need BA degree OR 4 years professional work experience

If you click on this link, it shows the entry requirements there: