No charter without experience. Unfair?

Hello all,

i am a mechanical engineer aiming for a CFA. I started studying for level 1 December exam.

While I was doing my research, I realized that without proper experience in investments, I wouldn’t be able to get the charter even after passing all 3 levels.

This seems quite odd to me, and a bit unfair. It discourages people from non finance related backgrounds to pursue a CFA.

My only hope now is leaving my current job and finding a job in investments after passing level 1.

I think CFA should remove the experience requirements for people with non-financial backgrounds.

You think that would be fair or unfair?

Appreciate your thoughts.

Absolutely not. It is perfect the way it is.

I don’t work in finance yet and am taking level 3 next year. Its painful but what can you do

^^ In the time between the exams you couldn’t network / interview your way in?

it’s 100% fair. Does any other industry dish out certifications to people with no relavant experience? Giving out the charter to someone who has only knowledge from a book would be misleading to clients.

Not unfair, why would you need the charter if you have no intention to work in finance.

If it is just the “knowledge” you want from the program, who cares about a few letters behind your name if you got what you wanted out of the program?

Why would they want to allow people in without experience?

Does it benefit the CFA Institute or ewxisting charterholders? No

Does it benefit the clients of CFA charterholders or the general puiblic? No

Life’s not fair, life with it, or don’t. The CFA charter was not established for you to get a job in finance, it was established to set a standard for investment professionals.

So welcome to Analyst Forum, good luck with the exams and finding the job you want, but if you think this is unfair then I think you may have made the wrong career choice. Finance is sadly not well known for compassion or patience with junior staff.