CFA vs CBV

After taking level 1 I was thinking of taking the CBV program and looked online to judge how hard it was. I saw debate, I saw contention, I saw people state that the CBV was really hard…

I just passed CFA level 3 and am part way through the CBV program.

I studied about 500 hours on average for every level of the CFA and felt like I barely squeeked by.

I studied about 25 hours for CBV and its a cakewalk.

End of comparison. CFA reigns supreme in difficulty.

Just as an aside. A few friends of mine that took the CFA and CPA (Canadian CA and American CPA) swear that the there is no comparison there either and that the CFA is way harder to complete HANDS DOWN. But I think that would be contested by some. I hear that the CA in some countries is impossible (South Africa being one).

Very helpful, thanks!

Do you think it is wise to puruse CBV after CFA if interested in corporate finance or ibanking?

whats a CBV?

Chartered Business Valuator.

A Canadian designation similar to ASA for Americans I beleive

^Yeah, I remember looking this up after somebody posted something similar in another thread. It’s the Canadian equivalent of the ABV or ASA or CBA.

I took the first of four classes required for ASA. It was a cakewalk. Three days of a relativly easy class with a two-hour test on the last day. Outside of class, I studied for about two hours.

So I’m guessing that if you multiply that by four, and add a couple of “open book” ethics and USPAP courses, you have the ASA. Not trying to belittle it, but it’s not exactly what I’d call a “rigorous academic undertaking”.

I don’t get the point of these easy to obtain “certifications” and what value it really adds. Another 3 letters behind your name?

^ at least it is a structured course on an important subject, making it easier to learn instead of bouncing all over trying to figure out if you are going in the right direction

It’s like getting a master degree in finance.