CFA Level I Exam: Study Material - Suggestions

Hello everybody!

My name is Mike, and it is my pleasure to be part of such a over-achieving forum! I am too a candidate for the CFA Level I exam held on December 6th, 2014.

However, it is my first time I take it, and I don’t really know what the best study material would be.

I was thinking of getting:

• The CFA study material provided by the CFA Institute (the one that comes with the registration fee).
  • The Essential Study Package from Schweser which includes Schweser Notes, SchweserPro QBank, and 6 full-length practice exams

Do you guys think that I would be good with those above listed? Are they worth the money they ask?

My ideas was to get the material before the summer starts, and study everything during the summer and my last semester of undergraduate school ( Fall 2014 ). What do you guys think?

Guys, thank you very much for helping!!

CFA study material provided by the CFA Institute is a MUST HAVE imho.

It’s good to have another source. Schweser is damn expensive. I chose standard account at Soleadea.

Thank you! I have just registered for the CFA in December. Moreover, I got the e-book version of the CFA study material. Towards the end of May, I will purchase Schweser’s notes and q-bank.

Can anyone else chime in on this? I’ve so far been preparing to use just the CFAI materials, but if access to a 3rd party product is considered essential, I’d like to hear the “pro’s” of that position.

Many people have passed using CFAI stuff.

Personally, I used Schweser’s stuff and passed all three levels. Never cracked CFAI stuff except for EOC questions. And if you have the budget for it, that’s what I’d recommend.

Hi Greenman72,

First, thank you very much for your advice! I am no expert and I have never taken the CFA before… could you please suggest me a study plan/method for my December exam?