I work at a cell phone store... barely studied... 100% short days before L1 exam as S&P 500 hit all time highs... "passed"

God is good.

I passed level 1 on my first attempt.

The night before exam results I was feeling down because I was convinced I didn’t pass. The next morning when I checked my phone I saw that I “passed”. I still wasn’t fully convinced. I have read news articles of people mistakenly getting acceptance letters into schools. “Maybe it was a mistake?” “Maybe I will get a follow-up e-mail saying I was sent the incorrect result.”

I think it’s fair to say that I’m an idiot. I also work at a cell phone store. I also procrastinate a lot. I didn’t really study much during my college years and didn’t put in many hours to study for the CFA exam. I was able to intern for a bulge bracket during college. After I graduated college I had zero confidence and didn’t even try to apply for “good” jobs because I consider myself a realist. There are way too many people with 4.0s and even above average is garbage when it comes to the finance industry.

It was difficult for me to study for long periods of time. I get distracted and bored easily. I was able to take a vacation a couple weeks before the exam and I told myself I would study during that time. Instead, I went to Asia and wasted a lot of time. Jetlag didn’t help either. I told myself I would study hardcore days before the exam. I got some studying in, but I lost a lot of money going 100% short as the S&P 500 was hitting all time highs and volatility hit multi-year lows. The technicals were screaming buy buy buy, but I am not a big fan of technicals. I had put options on the SPY and call options on the VIX. I was losing large (relative) amounts of money and it was very difficult to concentrate on studying. I was constantly stressed and I had trouble sleeping, including the night before the exam.