level 1 newbie question.

My background is a middle age man in the financial services industry (series 6,63) with a degree in engineering. I had a economic and probability class years ago in college but Im not remembering it being on this level. Also, I had zero accounting background. I am studying full time to prepare for the test.

I have been studying over the past month covering sections 1-6 at moderate success. Apx a week and a half ago, I started 7 and 8 and got blown away… Late last week it started making sense but I am still having trouble creating CFO sheets, etc as I tend to leave things off. then I hit the last section of 8 with apx 50 ratios to memorize (of which I got much down but not instinctive yet ) and started ch 9 first two sections tonight.

My question arises is what I should expect to take place next or any strategies to maximize my studying? I was originally planning to have it done within 2 months and then have 2-3 weeks left to do practice, however so far the accounting section has taken about a half a week to a week more than i anticipated.

Im curious for non accounting/ financial services industry is the accounting section the most challenging part. or should i be expecting to get even more difficult with the remaining sections. Is what im doing doable for Dec?

Any thoughts are appreciated.

I found accounting for Level I to be very difficult. There is just so much information and memorization.

There is a lot more “understanding” in later topics like fixed income, portfolio management, derivatives…

I found myself in a similar situation for L1. I cut all EOCS until 2 weeks before the exam and then I went nonstop EOCS and mocks for the final 2 weeks.

Worked for me, not saying it works for anyone.

Hi

What is EOCS?

Thanks

End of chapter questions.

End of chapter questions he means

What species of engineering?

I wrote a couple of articles on CFO that may be of some help: