CFA Dec-2014 experience

Hi everybody!

I am Quasar, and I work as an IT professional, at Pune, India. I and a friend studied together for CFA Level I. Our entire preparation was such a fulfilling experience. I have grown as a person. We’ve become more aware of the world around us, we stay abreast of the latest developments in the US economy, world events such as the oil supply glut, mergers and acquisitions! It was thrilling too - we’d often go to Starbucks or other places to study for inspiration. Its been a very exciting journey so far.

The December 2014 results are near, and I’ve got mixed feelings. When I took the December exams, my attempt was very decent. I couldn’t do well at Ethics though, I might score < 50% in that section. I would like to know from peers, charter-holders, if any past test-takers had similar results and they passed/did not pass.

Thanks in advance!

Hey,

In the same boat. Sincerely, the exam was fair. I just hope I didn’t make stupid mistakes in other areas as well. Ethics seems tough for me. I hope I can manage to between 50% - 70%.

Honestly, I haven’t seen or heard if anybody scored <50% in the Ethics section and still manage to pass.

Whatever the case, you can’t change the it now. lets hope for the best.

Cheers!!!

There’s lots of people that got <50 in Ethics and still passed. It only makes up 15% (I think) of L1 so do the math. Obviously you have to make up for it in other areas if you do bad in Ethics but entirely possible. On the down side, there is the fabled ‘Ethics Adjustment’ in which test-takers on the borderline are put into the pass or fail bucket based on their Ethics score.

In any event, you probably did better than you think. On L1, I didn’t feel like I had done that well on Ethics but still got >70%.

Hmmmmmm! *Fingers crossed**