Experience - studying only from CFAI material

Background - I am engineer with miminal knowledge of economics, some exposure to quant and FI, and other topics equally unknown. I have worked for one year in Fixed Income operations department for one year. That is it.

Study Material - I studied exclusively from CFAI material. Yes, I tried to read all those 3000+ pages on my own, without any third party help. I read all that material, solved EOCs at leat twice and all blue boxes, also mostly twice.

How was exam for me - I felt it was easy. The exam mostly touched basic concepts, when their was scope to really dig in and have some trick questions. AM was mostly straightforward, PM had some little tricks. With the kind of material we have to study and concepts we need to know and blue boxes we need to understand, questions were OK.

Will I pass - NO.

I may score more than 70 even may be 100 for 3-4 topics, between 50-70 for others, but I am not sure about ethics and econoics. I really do not think after putting so many many hours I will pass.

Why?

I spent so much time reading the material. I had less time to practice because reading text and revising used to tire me down. I tried to undertand everythign that was written. Economics took so much of my time, it was so difficult to understand, and in the end I am not sure whether I will even score in the range of 40-50. Revising that voluminious material in the end(even after taking notes was very time consuming). I regret solely studying from CFAI material. Depth of questions was OK, I would have been better off, studying third party material. Extra enthusiasm brought me down.

What’s next.