Too old to pursue the designation?

I am 36 years old. I wrote level 1 last summer and did not pass. Was in group 7.

I picked up a severe shoulder injury (ironically, happened while walking to the library to study!!!) about a month before the exam, required about 12 months of rehab.

Is age nothing but a number?

Reason for CFA: I would like to open my own practice and the designation gives me the credibility and legal right to invest money on the behalf of clients. Thanks

what do you do now? you are managing money as part of a team at another firm?

I started studying for my charter at 38.

I received the charter at 40yo

ok, here is the point: a quarter of candidates are students, so expect the mean age to be way below 36.

I say - it is never to late, but the earlier the bigger the benefit for you. Just go for it

xk, 38 yrs old and counting

I didn’t start until 35, killed L1 and L2 though on first try (and hopefully L3…we’ll see) so now 37. Assuming you work in finance, us oldies have an advantage over the young punks with their high school TI calculators! Keep going!

itera; I work in performance and risk for an asset manager.

to the other greybeards here;

what do you guys do?

So did I.

Nothing much.

I’m 36 as well and giving it a go. I attempted L1 6 years ago and failed, but last year decided to give it another try. Still awaiting results from 2 weeks ago. You’re never too old to learn and have goals.

Started the program at age 48. Passed Level I and II easily but made lots of stupid mistakes/misread questions on Level III this year - so I give myself a 50/50 chance of getting the charter this year at age 50. I do think my mental sharpness is declining (which may be the reason for the mishaps this year) but think that is a recent phenomenon so if you are in your 30s, you have a long time before that is a factor.

I just sat for L3 at 50. I haven’t failed one yet and will be very surprised if I fail this one.