How to best prepare for L1 on my own without any tutorial help?

Hi,

I have enrolled for the December 2015 L1 exam, which means that I have about 140 days in hand. I have an 8-10 hour day job and can devote about 4-5 hours daily for prep (double that on the weekends). I am an accountant by profession with only the most basic knowledge about finance and investments.

My questions are:

1. In what order should i tackle subjects? Are there any specific methods of preparation that I must bear in mind for each subject?

2. Will the Institute curriculum books and Schweser notes be sufficient for a well-rounded preparation?

3. My interactive study planner on the CFA website gives me 11 days for review. Is that enough time? Realistically, how much time should I set aside for review? At what stage should I begin attempting the mock tests?

4. Lastly and most importantly, how do I ensure that my enthusiasm and self-motivation levels do not dip?

Any and all useful tips are most welcome. Hoping to glean from your experiences…

Thanks.

-Anjalee

These are all just how I tackled level 1. Results pending so take them for what they are. I mainly used the CFAI material. ( I purchased some cheap videos for like $5 from fitch as well, used a bit and were meh)

1. The key is to save ethics for last or you will forget it. It is all memorization. Some will say do FRA first, I am sure that is a solid plan. I did Quant/Econ (skipped about half when I gave up on this topic)/FRA/Corp/Eq/FI/PM/Deriv/Alt/Eth
  • There is a lot of overlap in the material for Corp/Equity/FI so I think its good to knock those out together

• Econ is a relatively small portion of the exam (10%) and is an entire book. I suck at econ and gave up about 1/3 of the way through. By taking mocks and practice exams I was able to get around 50% in this area by looking up what I needed. My time was better used elsewhere to make up for the lost points.