Which topic to start from for L1 exam?

Hi

I registered for the CFA level I exam in June today and I want to create a study plan for myself. Do you have any suggestion where I should start from? Which topic?

My plan is to study all the CFA CBOK first and then search for other resources if I need to. I have my masters in Economics so I feel I am ok with economics, corporate finance and quantitative analysis, I have also passed several accounting courses including fundamental of financial accounting so the only remaining chapters that are going to be pretty new to me are the investment ones.

if you have followed a plan that worked for you could you please share it with me?

thanks a lot :slight_smile:

Start with Volume 1

Studying for L1 December currently. I am by no means an expert in passing these exams, but having just finished reading all of the material, I think there is a better way to tackle the test than simply reading 1-10.

Since you have a MS in Econ, I would start that section by taking the EOC questions and self-test and see how you fare before reading. I studied Econ in undergrad, and while I am sure the depth of the material was substantially less rigorous, there were things in the Econ section covered from the finance perspective that were never covered in my degree.

If I had to start over today, I would read the material as follows:

FRA, Corp Finance, Quant, Equities, Derivatives, Alternative, Fixed Income, Ethics, Econ, Portfolio Management