Question about null hypothesis

A bottler of iced tea wishes to ensure that an average of 16 ounces of tea is in each bottle. In order to analyze the accuracy of the bottling process, a random sample of 150 bottles is taken.

Can anyone tell me what the null hypothesis is?In my opinion it should be u≠16 but the answer states u=16.Isnt the null hypothesis the opposite of what we really want to prove?

Presumably, the bottler wants to ensure that at least 16 ounces of tea are in each bottle.

In that case, they want to disprove that there is less than 16 ounces of tea in each bottle, so the null hypothesis would be h0: μ ≤ 16 oz. In that case, the alternative hypothesis is h_a_: μ > 16 oz.

I’m currently studying the same topic, for me the Null Hypothesis depends on what you want to prove.

In your exemple your Null Hypothesis would have been good if the objectif was to prove the average of each bottle was different than 16.

I might be wrong because it’s a tough subject so if someone can confirm or infirm it would be nice

It really doesn’t matter which is which.

The Null could be mu <= 16 with Alt equal to mu > 16 or equivalently, the Null could be >= 16 and Alt mu < 16.

Let’s assume the first version is used the the null is rejected.

Then if we examine the problem using hte second version, we would fail to reject the null, reaching an equivalent conclusion.

Some statistics texts claim that the Alt should state what you are trying to prove but this is a but dated (imho) and not really necessary.

On a related note, you might be able to determine which null the question is assuming by examining the answer choices.

no guys, based on the information presented above only, the researcher wants to ensure an average 16 ounces per bottle, so based on this, it is a two-tailed test, and the null hypothesis (H0) is u≠16

So Shaz 12 is correct, unless you ommitted vital information from the readings.