Balance work life and study

Hello everybody,

Can you please provide me tips of how to balance work life and study together. I’m preparing for level 1 for June,2017

If you want to pass it with balanced work life and study, then don’t take CFA. There is no such thing

I wouldn’t consider myself a valid source for this, as I studied for the December exam partially while working full time with a long commute, and partially with a lot of time off work to strictly study. But from my experience, don’t expect much of a life during the week. Monday to Friday was work and studying, rinse and repeat.

Everyone will tell you the same thing, and it is to follow a schedule. Probably the most valuable tip for anyone studying for the exam, as falling off track of a schedule will quickly creep up on you in the month before the exam when you figure out you aren’t prepared. Just follow a good routine and don’t expect too much of a life, but those are just my two cents.

Happy studying and good luck in June :slight_smile:

If you have any other questions feel free to message me, just went through the exam and everything is still fresh so I would be happy to help out.

I cannot speak in detail about the work / study balance, but I can say with certainty that the home life / study balance is easy to maintain.

You simply tell your spouse that for five months you will be effectively nonexistant, and that she/he will have to handle 100% of the home life issues.

It’s really that simple.

Married with 4 kids (oldest is 8 and youngest less than 1) and full time employed. Also helped the spouse at home. And I was still able to pass all 3 levels and earn the charter.

You can definitely have a work/life balance. You just need a plan and stick to it.

My plan for L3 was simple (was similar for L1 and 2)

Put kids to bed around 7:30pm - 8pm.

Ate dinner and spent time with spouse until around 9pm.

Studied from 9pm to around 1am. Monday to Thursday.