Failed Level I Band 7 - Worth the retake?

Hey guys,

I failed the level 1 exam this past December (band 7) and I’m wondering if you guys can weigh in on me retaking the exam in June 2017.

My breakout is:

• Alternative Investments 10 - * - - Corporate Finance 17 - * - - Derivatives 12 * - - - Economics 24 * - - - Equity Investments 24 - * - - Ethical & Professional Standards 36 - - * - Financial Reporting & Analysis 48 * - - - Fixed Income Investments 24 * - - - Portfolio Management 17 * - - - Quantitative Methods 28 * -

Just a little bit of background on myself: I don’t come a finance background (majored in East Asian Studies in college), nor do I work in the finance industry (currently work in advertising). The material was brand new to me when starting this whole CFA path (I hate to say it, but I didn’t know what the difference was between the B/S, I/S, and CF/S when I started - they all looked the same to me!) I think I’m mostly bummed about failing because of the time and effort I put into the exam. I knew the material was challenging for me, but I half hoped my hard work would pay off. I’m thinking retaking the exam would be good - and if anything, just give me an opportunity to solidify a lot of these basic concepts - but what do you guys think? Do I stand a chance of passing in June?

And, in terms of my motivations for taking the exam:

1. I’m really hoping for a career change. The subject really interests me. I applied to a few entry level positions within the industry but there hasn’t been any bite. I think this is because there’s a lot of competition from new grads that are also applying that come from a finance background (on paper).