Hi I am planning to take the CFA level 1 in Dec 09’. I had a few questions regarding the same. 1. Once I register to take the test on Dec 09’ can I then change that to say June 10’? 2. Where can I get the study material for this test? Thanks

Hi! 1) You are registering for a specific exam date. Therefore it is not possible to switch the dates (maybe except for some serious circumstances). 2) Study material is currently included in the registration fee and you will get a heavy parcel with the books a few days after the registration. I don’t know your personal circumstances, but if you start studying now or within the next few months, you will have enough time to prepare for the exam.

Thanks for the prompt reply. I do not have a background in finance. I am an engineering student working as a software engineer. I am looking to break into the finance industry by taking CFA. I wish to pursue a career in investment banking. I would like to know how difficult it is, and how much time it would take to prepare for CFA level 1? Also, could I get any kind of study notes so as to get a fair idea of what it is to give this test? Thanks

Atleast level 1 is not that difficult, the thing is the curriculum is very vast, but if you devote 10-15 hrs a week, I think that should be enough. Secondly, there study notes such as ‘Schweser’ and ‘Stalla’, besides the CFAI text books. These notes are complete and sufficient to pass the exam.

go to these sites to learn more about the exam and the available materials cfainstitute.org schweser.com stalla.com and dude seriously if you start now you have ample of time for Dec 09 even if you don’t have fin background…

Thanks a lot for all your responses.