L II suggested study order

Hi Everyone,

I have a specific question about LII suggested study order.

To explain myself: for LI I followed a really unorthodox study order, meaning I studied CF, Eq, PM, FI, Derivs and Alts first and only then did I take FRA, Quants Ethics and Econ (the latter I almost skipped it was the hardest for me).

Meaning I took the staff I thought I would like first and those I dreaded (like Quants) I held for later not to discourage myself or not to lose too much time.

Are there any arguments against a similar approach for LII?

I understand that FRA, Econ and Quants are rather “tools” to use in the valuation of asset classes but does the material really build on each other in this sense.

To be honest I have just looked into the LII Quants book and almost hyperventillated reading the titles of the chapters it’s so scary.

So can I leave (at least Quants) by the end or not?

Thx in advance.

You will find that equity borrows a lot from FRA and some from Quant and Econ. There’s a lot of repetition in the Quant book - (a lot of multiple regression stuff is tought in the simple regression chapter. - don’t get bogged down with time series and ARCH). Derivatives shares some of the econ material. I’d recommend reading the curriculum in order. I never really understood why people read out of order. You’re going to have to get over the fact that some subjects may be a little discouraging… you won’t know until exam day exactly how much weight they will represent.

If I were to take it again and not score any lower than 50% in anything, this is what worked for me and what I would do again:

First time through:

FRA and Equity first - an absolute must master both sections

Corp Finance, Fid, Derivatives

Alt Inv, Quant and Econ before PM

PM

Ethics Last

Frankly, I skipped Econ but did beween 70% and 100% on it so who knows what’s going on there…