From Band 4 to Passing

To All,

The first time I took L2, I failed band 4. Second time I took it, I crushed it.

Difference study wise between the two tests:

• Did every single Grey Box, EOC questions from CFAI books and FinQuiz Mock Exams. I made sure that I went back over the ones I got wrong, over and over again. Not to just get them right, but to understand how they are right. Questions, Questions, Questions.

When I took L2 the first time, I knew the material very well. However, I did not know how to answer the questions. All my friends thought I would foresure have passed because i knew the material way better than them. The reason I failed was because of the questions. You need to practice as much as you can.

How I studied to pass L2:

Read Schweser notes. Do All Grey Box and EOC from both CFAI & Schweser. Mark the ones you get wrong. Move onto the next chapter. Repeat this till finished. While going through and finishing section by section, I would go back and do questions that I got wrong from both Grey Box and EOC from CFAI questions. It is important to keep reviewing what learned previously or you will forget things.

I started in November, and finished the material in March. I had all of April and May to do nothing but questions and mock exams. I focused on section by section rather than taking full timed mock exams. I did take the live mock exam with Schweser and received an 80 & 82% the week before the exam. But I didn’t let up. The week remaining, I took off work and studied and reviewed everything including all the questions I got wrong to make sure that I was in good shape.

Results the second time: Passed

8 sections in >70%

PM 51-70%

Alt. Inv. <= 50%

thanks for your contribution

You made a very usuful advice!

Thanks for posting critical information.