300 hours??

I would just like to vent and call BS on that 300 hours theory. No wonder pass rates are so low. Anybody else feel my pain right now?

of course the 300 hours is a BS theory.

First time taker here, and I agree; 300 hours is pure BS. By the time I sit for the exam, I will have put in over 600 hours. I’m mentally prepared for disappointment…

600?? Yeesh… And I thought my pace for 450 was a little overkill…

I will be close to 600 too.

Yowzers I was budgeting for 400 hours…seems I need to up my game!

i started from November, and now i’m studying >10 hours per day until 6th June! more hours you study, the more your confident!!

I am close to 200 hours…started in Jan, February was too slow, and ramped up in March. April is again slow (dont know why!). By May end, i think will cross BS 300 hours…I really wonder if numbers of hours are important? I believe that first reading from any source should be thorough and then one should take 20-25 days of another reading (revision) and then give mocks (initial 1-2 mocks with formula sheet on hand thereafter just lock them in cupboard till the final day for a quick glance). If you are consistently reaching 65-70% on Mocks by mid of May, one can expect to do better in exam, unless they are drunk the night just before the exam!

How is it possible to study 10 hours per day even if you’re studying full time? That’s like studying from 8 in the morning to 8 at night, with an hour for lunch & an hour for dinner… Tell me the secret!!!

I think I’ve put in 200+ so far. (I haven’t been keeping track.) I’d flunk every section if I took a mock today… I’m not sure that I’ve learned anything yet…

the #hours obv isn’t the same across everyone,

the gap is most noticeable at L1 which basically covers 80% of a decent finance undergrad education

yeah i made this thread back in Feb venting my frustrations on the topic…

http://www.analystforum.com/forums/cfa-forums/cfa-level-ii-forum/91339014