Which topic do we start CFA level 2 preps from ?

Hey guys ,

I am going to be writting CFA level 2 next year and i wanted to know which topic would be the best topic to start from . As i am going to do self studying , i guess a little headstart and some guidance would help . Like in Level 1 , most of the topics were a derivation from FRA and Quants . so , is it the case with level 2 also ? if so , what would be good topics to start from so I can revise it while doing other topics .

Thanking ,

Fudge

It can’t hurt to start with FRA and Equity, the two biggest topic areas in the curriculum.

There isn’t as much, if any, topic crossover in Level II, so the study order doesn’t really matter in my opinion. Level II builds upon Level I concepts, and introduces new material that is mostly independant of other topics in the ciriculum. I studied Level II in order, with the exception of skipping Ethics until the end and I don’t feel I could have improved learning the material by approching it in a different order.

I disagree that there isn’t any overlap-- there is actually a bit between QM, Equity, and PM (and some other areas). Even if the concepts aren’t directly related, you can still see a general connection between many of them. However, they do explain some of the ideas again, so you probably could study them out of order. Similar to you, though, I studied the curriculum in order, and I felt the ordering was appropriate.

I fiddled with the order slightly, just because I couldn’t handle going from a boring study session (corpfin) straight to another boring one (alternative inv.). So I did fixed income before doing alt. But I agree the proposed order is the right way to go.

If you’re using Schweser - just go in order. It just flows a lot better. You won’t remember anything about Quant - at least that happened to me… So glad I brushed up there in the week before the test. If you’ve taken advanced statistics in college, don’t waste time there until later.