Road to Level II

Hello everyone!

Firstly, I am delighted to have managed to pass level one and do intend to continue. Because I have started a new job at the beginning of the year and do not have a background in finance (I studied politics), I have decided to sign up for level 2 next year, however.

I genuinely feel that my chances to pass the exam will increase with more time to prepare for the exam.

It would be of great interest to me, whether you would have any tips to share for my preparation. I do know it`s early, yet the earlier I know how to approach the preparation the better.

On that note, I have a few questions:

1. I only studied with Schweser for level 1 and felt pretty good. I scored >70 in 5 topics, between 50 and 70 in 4 and 1 below 50 (Alternative Investments)

2. Can you teach yourself (again) all the material with no background in finance? Or would you recommend taking a course for this exam?

3. Will there be a CFA Level II Mock Exam before the exam similar to Level I?

I am looking forward to hear from your experiences and to receive some very useful tips!

Thank you for your help!

Hi Mr RS,

congratulations!

Iam in the same situation. I passed level 1, since january a started a new job and I do not have a background in finance (I am en engineer).

I decided to take the exam for level 2 this june because if I fail is not a big issue (I will just loose the money…), but If I am lucky to pass it I will not loose a whole year!

Cheers

Cheers mate! Congratulations to you as well! Hope you celebrated in style :slight_smile:

It would not be an issue to fail level 2 for me as well, but I feel waiting is the right call.

Think I have got the discipline and willpower to study 7-8 months for one exam.

Best of luck to you!

Hi Guys, as I see you are based in Switzerland? Wanna catch up? I am taking level II as well and looking for some peers. Best Sinus

ps: working and living in zurich and taking cfa II although my profile tells otherwise…