How to effectively study for CFA Level 3 while Balancing work?

Hey Guys!

I know there are lot of questions in this forum on how to study for CFA L3. What to use, What not to do…etc. But guys, I seriously need some noble person to give me a bang on serious motivation on how to study it while balancing your work. I am working 5 days a week from 8am - 6pm. I am seriously struggling to start preparing properly. I wasn’t working during other levels so it was chill. This time I want to discipline myself and I also have a job now! Stakes are high…work issues are there…lot of work plus manage my CFA preps…

Please give me your strategies and if required please scare me so I can make my mind to start preparing…I know its hard…I know the issue is the AM…but I want to know how do you guys manage time to work and study alltogether…how?

Thanks…

Help!

I studied for Level III whilst working as a mortgage security analyst for PIMCO.

If you think that your work hours are tough, well, you ain’t seen nothin’.

In addition to the 8AM - 6PM regular work week, I was also responsible for the “night cycle”: the after-hours analytics on all of PIMCO’s holdings. I would get phone calls at 2:00 in the morning because something had happened and the computers had stopped; and I had to figure out the problem and get them restarted remotely, so that by 6:00AM when the traders arrived, everything was completed.

I found that I studied best from about 7:00PM to 10:00PM every weekday night, and about four hours each Saturday and Sunday. I had a deal with my wife: from January through May, I wasn’t home. Period.

You can do it, but it takes commitment from you and your loved ones. I was fortunate: I passed every exam the first time I took it. If you have similar dedication, there’s no reason you cannot do the same.

Best of luck. If you need any help (i.e., tutoring), send me a PM.